Our use of cookies We use necessary cookies to make our site work. Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, website analytics and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work, please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of cookies, click the 'Accept' button. No, give me more info
Accept
 

Petitions received in 2019/20

 
Answer:

Date received: 24 April 2019
Signatories received: 10
Name of petioner: Mr D White


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the lack of maintenance to surrounding trees in the area of Wyvern Lakeside.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

The council is aware of local reports to its highways department concerning the highway trees in the area. We are currently investigating these concerns and will consider the additional information detailed in the petition as part of these investigations.

Our resource for highway tree maintenance is limited however and our priority is to address issues with trees which are dead, diseased or dying. Any other type of highway tree maintenance is subject to resource availability and in the event that ad hoc maintenance works are raised these will be given a category of priority in accordance with our local risk-based policy.

Common complaints received regarding trees, is that they block light, shade gardens and drop leaves/fruits. An individual’s tolerance of these complaints is a subjective and personal matter and there are a variety of other potential nuisances associated with trees, most of which are minor and are considered to be social problems associated with living near trees. 

Seasonal change affects trees and with it they shed petals, leaves, seeds, twigs and fruit. These are often carried freely in the wind and are largely outside of the council’s control.

Although detritus associated with trees and loss of light/satellite reception can be can be an inconvenience, these factors are not recognised as a legal nuisance and are not justification for the removal or pruning of a highway tree.

If residents are concerned that trees are causing structural damage to their property, the council would expect that those residents secure an independent structural engineer’s report complete with relevant evidence, for example, a tree root lab report; and contact the Council individually for details of the Local Highway Authority’s third-party insurer.

In the meantime, as advised above we are currently investigating the more general concerns raised by residents of Wyvern and the local County Councillor is also considering how they may support any highway safety tree maintenance, using a small budget available to them reserved for local community priorities.

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Tim Heminsley on 0300 111 8000.

Answer:

Date received: 30 April 2019
Signatories received: 132
Name of petioner: Cllr A Beech


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding requests to re-open Brick Kiln Lane, Chesterton.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

The county council welcomes suggestions from communities to improve their local highway infrastructure and we also take road safety extremely seriously. Sites are regularly monitored to target limited strategic resources at locations that provide the potential for the greatest accident reduction. 

The Traffic Regulation Order (TRO) and physical measures on Brick Kiln Lane which prevent traffic from using the road as a through-route, were implemented to provide road safety benefits to local residents and highway users and these continue to be realised.

On this basis, the council has no current plans to re-open Brick Kiln Lane to through-traffic and there are no plans to consider reviewing the matter in the future.

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact David Greatbatch on 0300 111 8000.

Answer:

Date received: 21 May 2019
Signatories received: 86
Name of petitioner: Ms A Andrews
_____________________________________________________________________________

Petition response:

Thank you for your letter dated 21 May 2019 regarding the changes to the bus services in the villages of Tixall and Ingestre, and the petition which accompanied it. Whilst we note 86 people have signed the petition, many of the signatories are resident outside of Tixall in locations where a bus service has been maintained.

You will have noted in previous detailed correspondence with officers the reasons behind the changes to the local bus services in Tixall and Ingestre (Chadwick, 28 March 2019; Davidson, 15 April 2019).

The new housing estate called St Mary’s Gate has been provided with a bus service using monies as part of the planning agreement with the developers. The developer funding does not pay for the whole 841 service, but use of the funding does require us to deliver the 30 minute frequency to the new estate.  The scheduling of the “short” journeys do not have enough time to allow any extension to be considered nor do the conditions allow us to put gaps in the service to St Mary’s Gate to accommodate an extension to Tixall. Services to new developments generally are not commercially viable to start with, and the funding is used to sustain them for a period to allow patronage to grow.  It is also expected that the service will attract passengers travelling to Beacon Business Park, the University and the Technology Park which further contributes to the service’s overall viability. 

D&G Buses operate the 841 service and Arriva Midlands is not party to it. 

The Village Link service (route 282) is a commercial service to be operated by Lunar Cars with an 8-seat vehicle. The service is due to start on 10 July 2019 and will operate in the villages of Colton, Colwich, Little Haywood, Great Haywood, Tixall, Hixon and Stowe-by-Chartley. This service will transport passengers to sites where the main bus services operate allowing passengers onward journeys to Stafford or Rugeley. It will also help passengers access the doctor’s surgery in Great Haywood. A copy of the timetable is attached. Lunar Cars will be delivering flyers showing the timetable, and will be dropping off posters at local businesses, shops and notice boards. This service will be commercially operated without any support from the county council and I would urge local residents to support the venture.

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Bernie Chadwick on 01785 854070.

Answer:

Date received: 31 May 2019
Signatories received: 1138
Name of petitioner: Mr R Kenney

_______________________________________________________________________________

Link to ePetition

Answer:

Date received: 03 June 2019
Signatories received: 482
Name of petitioner: Ms K Goodfellow

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding a campaign for a roundabout to be constructed at the dangerous junction of the A515 at Six Roads’ End.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

Engineers at the Accident Investigation Unit of Staffordshire County Council conduct annual and quarterly cluster site and route surveys with a view of identifying any clusters of personal injury collisions with similar causation factors. If a pattern of treatable collisions is identified then remedial measures, proportionate to the collision problem, will be proposed and prioritised against other locations across Staffordshire. As the budget for road safety improvements is finite, it is the sites with the greatest proven need which are treated first, and these will have a cluster of incidents with a discernible trend or pattern in the cause of each.

Following a review of the personal injury collision data for this location, there have been five personal injury collisions recorded within the most recent five years of complete data (01 July 2013 – 30 June 2018). Analysing these five collisions, a serious collision took place in 2014 whilst the remaining four collisions had a severity level of slight. Very different vehicle manoeuvres were involved in these collisions and as such no clear treatable pattern can be identified. A site visit was undertaken in 2018 and determined that the signage on all approaches was appropriate and that no further remedial measures proportionate to the collision history would be proposed.

The Council would estimate that costs to provide a roundabout scheme here would be likely to cost in the region of £750k - £1m. At this time, we are not looking to propose any schemes based on the current data we hold for this location, but the site will of course continue to be monitored.

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Richard Rayson on 0300 111 0800.

 

Answer:

Date received - 18 June 2019
Signatories received - 24
Name of petitioner - Ms S Norap

____________________________________________________________________________

Petition Response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding parking restrictions on Grange Lane, Wolstanton. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

 The current timed restrictions on Grange Lane were implemented in 2009 as part of the improvements associated with the Wolstanton Link Road and were intended to improve the amenity of the area, and to facilitate the ease of access to the residential premises.

The waiting restrictions between 8:00am and 4:30pm on Monday to Friday are supported by a Traffic Regulation Order (TRO), which is the framework that enables the road markings to be legally enforceable.

Other than the usual exceptions for loading / unloading, there is no permit system available for residents which would enable them to park during the restricted times and the Council has no current plans to review the arrangements here. 

This is because in order to remove, reduce, or otherwise amend the restrictions in the Grange Lane cul-de-sac, the County Council would need to amend the original TRO.

Creating, removing or amending a TRO requires an investment of thousands of pounds and can take several months to complete, since the process involves both statutory and public consultation, in accordance with Government legislation and guidelines. Currently the Council has no funding stream available through which to implement or change TROs and in most cases, new TROs or amendments to these, must be funded instead via the local County Councillor’s Divisional Highway Programme (DHP). 

The DHP provides each County Councillor with a small annual sum from the Integrated Transport budget which they can use to fund investigation or minor civil works to address Local Community Priorities. The concern expressed by the petition is not a matter that currently features on County Councillor John Cooper’s DHP and although the issue can be recorded for future consideration, it would need to be prioritised over other similarly sincere highway concerns within the division, before any further investigation could take place.

Turning to the request for a resident permit system, the Council does provide an application service for Permit Parking Schemes and further information is available on our website. Both an initial application fee and the ongoing cost of renewing the permits has to be paid for by the residents. However, generally only those sites where residents have no provision for off-street parking and where there are no existing Traffic Regulation Orders restricting parking, are considered for Permit Parking Schemes. As the majority of properties on Grange Lane have access to off-street parking it is very unlikely that the site would qualify for a Permit Parking Scheme, even if the current restrictions were removed in the future.

In summary, the options available to the residents of Grange Lane are as follows: the restrictions remain as they are on the understanding that there is no option for exceptions/permits or alternatively; the residents can formally request that the Council considers the removal or at least a reduction of the current restrictions. If the latter option is the preferred choice, the issue can be recorded on the local County Councillor’s DHP, where the matter may be prioritised in the future for further investigation.

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact David Greatbatch, Strategic Community Infrastructure Manager on 0300 111 8000.

Answer:

Date received - 25 July 2019
Signatories received - 94
Name of Petitioner - Cllr Janet Eagland
________________________________________________________________________________

Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents, regarding a request for a 20 mph speed limits on all the roads within the Cathedral View and Roman Heights housing developments. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

The roads on the aforementioned developments are not currently classed as Highways Maintainable at Public Expense (HMPE), i.e. they are not yet public highway and are not maintained by the council. Once the developments have been completed and the highway infrastructure has been inspected to ensure it complies to appropriate standards, the council will adopt the roads and they will become part of the public highway network.

Once the roads are classed as public highway, the council can consider the implementation of a 20 mph speed limit on the developments.  

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Tim Heminsley (Strategic Community Infrastructure Manager) via tim.heminsley@staffordshire.gov.uk.

 Yours sincerely

Answer:

Date received: 22 August 2019
Signatories received: 266
Name of petioner: Ms R Stokes


Petition response:

To view the petition response see our moderngov page

Answer:

Date received: 10 October 2019
Signatories received: 1780
Name of petioner: Cllr D Brookes


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the request for the Area of Reflection.

Staffordshire County Council was first approached for permission to install a silhouetted soldier within Market Place as a temporary measure. Following installation of the memorial we became aware that this was a planned for the memorial to become a more substantial permanent feature. Your planning application that was made to the planning authority describes this as being removable indicating that this wouldn’t be permanent.

The County Council is supportive of the installation of the feature but on a temporary basis during the Armistice period in November each year, and in our response to the planning application we indicated “no objection subject of a permit to dig and license”. A long-standing agreement is something the Council remains willing to enter whereby the “area of reflection” will be re-instated on an annual basis for the month of November, in 2020 and beyond however, to date, we have not received any paperwork to reflect this is a temporary annual installation. Regardless of planning consent being granted, the installation is an illegal obstruction within the highway. I understand that John Henderson, Chief Executive has requested that the installation is removed at your earliest convenience.

Should you require consent to re-install the memorial for November 2020 and beyond please contact David Walters directly via david.walters@staffordshire.gov.uk to allow you to work through the appropriate agreements necessary.

 

Answer:

Date received: 10 October 2019
Signatories received: 66
Name of petioner: Cllr D Smith


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents, regarding a request for parking restrictions on Admiral Parker Drive, Richard Cooper Road, New Road, Station Road and Holm View Close, Shenstone. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

As you will be aware, the council has been progressing a parking restriction Traffic Regulation Order (TRO) on the aforementioned roads throughout 2019. The TRO is a legal order that allows the Council to enforce parking restrictions and issue fines. The TRO process involves a number of stages of consultation that the Council must follow before the TRO can be signed off and the parking restrictions installed. The TRO at this location is coming towards the end of this process and the Council will expedite it as quickly as it can whilst complying with the legislation. Depending upon objections to the proposals, which can create delays, the Council would be looking to install the parking restrictions around February 2020.

The council has previously received assurances from West Midlands Rail on several occasions that car parking charges would not be applied to the Shenstone station car park without prior consultation with the Council. Unfortunately, this has not happened and WMR have proceeded to apply parking charges which has resulted in increased station parking on the surrounding roads.

Whilst residents wait for the TRO to be completed, there are two things that they can do:

  • Each resident can request that their vehicle access crossing is enforced. See our dropped kerb enforcement page for further details on how to apply.
  • If there is an obstruction of the road or footway, i.e. vehicles / pedestrians cannot pass, residents need to contact the police on their non-emergency telephone number 101. The police enforce obstruction and dangerous parking, the Council does not have the power to do so.

I would like to take this opportunity to assure residents that the council is aware of the situation and is working towards getting the necessary parking restrictions installed as soon as it can.

Answer:

Date received: 22 October 2019
Signatories received: 2464
Name of petioner: Cllr J Salt


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding funding for the Staffordshire Residential Special Schools.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Mark Sutton, Cabinet Member for Children and Young People.

Staffordshire County Council currently has a contract with the five residential schools in Staffordshire to fund residential education provision. The residential provision is provided to a number of children who attend the schools.

Staffordshire County Council, like many local authorities across the country, faces a significant financial challenge. There are many more children who need our support and we have less money than in the past. As such, we have looked carefully at what we can and what we cannot afford to fund in the future.

Residential education provision is not a service that we are legally required to provide, but we know that it is valued by the children, young people and the families who access it. We have been thinking carefully about the future of this service. Over the next few months we will be working with special schools in Staffordshire to develop a special school strategy for the county. We will consider the residential provision the school provides as part of this work. 

The residential provision will continue to be funded while this review is taking place. Thank you for sharing the petition and raising with the Council the concerns felt about funding of the special school residential provision.

 

Answer:

Date received: 06 November 2019
Signatories received: 3
Name of petioner: Mr C Davis


Petition response:

To view the response see our moderngov page.

Answer:

Date received: 3 December 2019
Signatories received: 399
Name of petioner: Ms R Edwards


Petition response:

To view the petition response see our  moderngov page.

Answer:

Date received: 9 December 2019
Signatories received: 48
Name of petioner: Mr J C Bond


Petition response:

This petition has been passed to South Derbyshire Council.

Answer:

Date received - 19 December 2019
Signatories received - 131
Name of Petitioner - Cllr Mark Sutton


 

Council response.

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the request to reduce the speed limit within Weston Village from 40 to 30mph. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

I understand a meeting with campaign group residents has been arranged at Blymhill Parish on Monday 24 February where this matter will be discussed in more detail.

In addition, community concerns sites such as this are referred to the Divisional Highway Program process for priority and/or further investigation.

A meeting has been arranged with you for the 2 April.

Answer:

Date received - 19 December 2019
Signatories received - 144
Name of Petitioner - Cllr Phil Hewitt
________________________________________________________________________________

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the request for a controlled crossing facility of Hayes Way.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

We will be happy to discuss the request for a crossing facility with you at our next Divisional Highway Program meeting which is planned to take place in the coming weeks.

Before such a scheme can be put forward for consideration of capital funding a feasibility study will be required to determine an appropriate scheme or local solution.

As such the feasibility and investigation will require your support through the Local Communities Priority process.

 

Answer:

Date received: 11 February 2020
Signatories received: 355
Name of petioner: Mrs A Didier


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents, parents and staff of the school regarding the request for Highway Improvements along Weston Road, Stafford. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

Staffordshire has one of the safest county council road networks in the country but we welcome and encourage feedback from communities in relation to matters surrounding road safety.

As Weston Road has a speed limit of 40mph there are repeater signs reiterating this to road users to ensure they are aware of what the correct speed limit is. There is already vehicle activated signs as you approach The Weston Road Academy. It is important to note that these signs are only advisory and cannot be enforced by the police however the 40mph speed limit is enforceable.

Due to the increase in demand for services and increased constraints on resources, the County Council is not currently in a position to erect speed cameras however the Police Headquarters are on the same road which would increase the amount of police presence to enforce traffic speeds.

I can see you have also suggested pedestrian guard rails on the Veritas side of Weston Road to protect pedestrians. Pedestrian guard rails are there to prevent pedestrians from crossing the road rather than protecting pedestrians from potential accidents. The section of the footway you refer to also has a cycle way which means pedestrians are further away from the carriageway therefore reducing any potential health and safety risks.

While drop off and pick up times outside schools can be a particularly busy time, we would always ask people to park responsibly and be considerate to residents, other drivers, children and their parents when parking.

We do listen to residents and work with local communities if they have concerns about road safety in their area.  Requests for things like extra double yellow lines can be explored by the local member as part of their local highways programme, however, these would have to be prioritised against other matters in the area. Police would be able to enforce any parked cars on yellow zig-zags however, stationary traffic is not enforceable.

There is a pedestrian crossing near to the roundabout on the A513 Beaconside which leads to a paved area however this is not signalised yet. A request to get this crossing changed to a signalised crossing has been recorded on the Divisional Highway Programme (DHP) for the local County Councillor John Francis.

The County Councillor may consider funding further investigation into your concerns in the future and if the matter is considered a Local Community Priority over other similarly sincere highway concerns within the division. We are unable to confirm if (and when) an issue will be prioritised nor are we able to inform individuals of the status of their reported issue on an ongoing basis.

I hope the you find this reply informative and should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Tom Underwood

Yours sincerely

Tom Underwood

Community Highway Support Officer

Answer:

Date received: 11 February 2020
Signatories received: 58
Name of petioner: Mr R Evans


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding Road Safety Concerns on the Nantwich Road.

Each county councillor has a Divisional Highway Programme (DHP) which provides the council with a platform to prioritise local highway issues that may not otherwise meet the intervention criteria, for further investigation. These priorities are reviewed twice a year.

County Councillor Ann Beech has requested for an investigation into the B5500, Nantwich Road to ascertain the feasibility of implementing a reduction in the speed limit. The concerns of the petitioners will therefore be considered formally as part of Councillor Beech’s DHP priority.

The Divisional Highway Programme supports the Council in providing a balance between the delivery of statutory duties and locally identified problems, within the finite resources available. 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Answer:

Date received: 13 February 2020
Signatories received: 33
Name of petioner: Cllr Kyle Robinson


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the request for the repair of potholes on Chapel Street, Butt Lane.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

Firstly I would say that it is fully understandable why you would have aspirations regarding the maintenance of your local road network and I appreciate the time you have taken to contact the Council with your concerns.

Chapel Street, Butt Lane is currently on the preventative treatment programme for this year. As part of this programme pre-patching works have already been carried out on 2nd and 3rd March 2020 to make the road safe before these works are carried out. These works will be completed as soon as resources allowed.

All road surfaces deteriorate due to use and weathering and severe weather conditions can accelerate the deterioration of roads. Reactive maintenance work, which is aimed at keeping the roads safe, is identified by a comprehensive system of highway inspections that categorise each defect based on the risk it presents to the travelling public. 

Routine inspections are completed in line with the requirements set by the Department for Transport and completed on either a monthly or annual basis depending on the classification of the road. If there are any other defects in this location that have not already been repaired, then these will be address as part of our ongoing inspections.

 

Should you require further information regarding your petition please contact Tom Underwood

Answer:

Date received: 24 February 2020
Signatories received: 31
Name of petioner: Mr K Johnson and Ms C White


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the operations of AB Farms LTD.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr Helen Fisher, Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport.

Firstly I would say that it is fully understandable to me why you would have aspirations regarding the maintenance of your local road network and I appreciate the time you have taken to contact the Council with your concerns.

Cranebrook Lane is a rural route, serving a small number of properties and because of its road classification, receives an annual highway safety inspection.

Problems such as the carriageway edge failure reported here are natural symptoms of living in a rural location where agricultural activity adds to a presence of traffic using the lane and, where there are limited passing places to accommodate such manoeuvres. This leads to verges being frequently overridden where there is no solid road surface underneath.

All road surfaces deteriorate due to use and weathering and severe weather conditions can accelerate the deterioration of roads. Reactive maintenance work, which is aimed at keeping the roads safe, is identified by a comprehensive system of highway inspections that categorise each defect based on the risk it presents to the travelling public.

Any damage to the public Highway as a result of farm vehicles will be investigated as part of our routine inspection regime. There has been work raised to carry out work to the drains on this road. This work will be carried out as and when resources allow. Any reports you wish to make directly to ourselves relating to specific issues in your local area can be reported via our ‘report it’ app which can be found at the following link www.staffordshire.gov.uk/reportit.

The County Council are not in a position to enforce the working hours of the business due to AB Farms Ltdbeing a private business. Issues such as these would need to be addressed to AB Farms Ltd directly. Planning issues and noise pollution complaints are dealt with via Lichfield District Council therefore the County Council is unable to comment on these issues. These will need to be raised with the District Council who can be contacted via their website https://www.lichfielddc.gov.uk/digitalservices.

Answer:

Date received: 04 March 2020
Signatories received: 66
Name of petioner: Mrs C Plant


Petition response:

To view the response - view our mod.gov petitions page

Answer:

Date received: 13 March 2020
Signatories received: 9
Name of petioner: Cllr Susan Woodward


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents regarding the flooding on Ironstone Road.

Standing or ponding water on the road surface or on footways can occur for a variety of reasons. Standing water can occur in low spots on the road and generally forces vehicles to move away from the road edge. Pedestrians may have to walk around standing water where this occurs on footways.

A common problem that might create this issue is a nearby gulley which has become blocked but this is not always the cause. Whilst it is tempting to report a problem like this during rainfall, we would always advise to wait until 2 hours after rainfall has passed.

Many highway drainage systems are of historic design and their capacity simply cannot cope with the storms that we now see more regularly. If standing water has not drained away 2 hours after rainfall, then this could mean there is a problem rather than a capacity or slow-running issue. The County Council’s Highway Partners Amey have recorded slow-running issues on Ironstone Road which require ad-hoc work to be carried out to jet the system. There is no scheduled date for when this work will be carried out. I can assure you this work will be completed as and when resources allow.

In the recent weeks we have experienced extreme weather creating larger volumes of surface water that our road gully’s do not have the capacity for. To monitor  locations, The County Council operates a comprehensive routine inspection regime and all roads on the 3500 mile public highway network are inspected monthly, quarterly or annually depending on their road classification.

Ironstone Rd is on a quarterly routine inspection and the general condition of the whole road is assessed during this type of inspection. Any identified drainage defects that meet intervention level are risk assessed, categorised, and scheduled accordingly through the works system. Ironstone Rd was last visited on 29th June 2020 and as part of this routine inspection our inspectors did not find any actionable defects relating to drainage issues that haven’t been record already. I have shared your petition with our Operations Team to inform them of the reported flooding. The road will continue to be monitored in the interim

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope the above goes some way to reassuring you that we are monitoring the location 

There are no results that match your search criteria


Latest news
Staffordshire business start-up and survival rates increase as county council support programme grows

Staffordshire business start-up and survival rates increase as county council support programme grows

Description
The number of new businesses in Staffordshire starting up has increased to the level seen nationally and those businesses surviving their first three years has increased with the rate now higher than the national figure, recently released statistics show.
Date:
03 February 2023
Cannock family centre supports local families

Cannock family centre supports local families

Description
Families worried about the rising cost of living are being offered free supplies at their local community table.
Date:
01 February 2023
New heritage project to preserve and showcase county's past

New heritage project to preserve and showcase county's past

Description
The project will include a new £5.4m history centre in Eastgate Street in Stafford and an ambitious four year programme of activities that will engage new audiences whilst connecting visitors and residents with family and local history.
Date:
31 January 2023
School closures detailed on county council website

School closures detailed on county council website

Description
Parents can check if they local school is closed via Staffordshire County Council's dedicated website. As a series of National Education Union strikes begin on Wednesday, schools who have notified the county council that they are closed can be viewed at www.staffordshire.gov.uk/schoolclosure.
Date:
31 January 2023

Visit the Staffordshire Newsroom