Our use of cookies We use necessary cookies to make our site work. Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, website analytics and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work, please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of cookies, click the 'Accept' button. No, give me more info
Accept
 

Petitions received 2022/23

 
Answer:

Date received: 05 April 2022
Signatories received: 1
Name of petioner: Ms C Gray


Petition response:

To view the response - view our mod.gov petitions page

Answer:

Date received: 26 July 2022
Signatories received: 2765
Name of petioner: Mr S Burges


Petition response:

To view the response please see our e petitions page

 

Answer:

Date received: 09 September 2022
Signatories received: 1187
Name of petioner: Mrs P Krupski


Petition response:

Thank you for your petition concerning the 406 Uttoxeter Town Circular bus service.

This service was provided on a commercial basis by the operator Midland Classic, now Diamond Bus, meaning that it did not receive any subsidy.  All bus services in the area suffered a dramatic drop in patronage during the pandemic.  Unfortunately, passenger numbers have still not returned to their previous levels.  In particular, concessionary pass usage – which the 406 was heavily reliant on – remains low.  At the same time, there has been significant inflation in operating costs.  Combined with low passenger numbers, the service had ceased to be commercially sustainable.

The County Council have made available funding for a number of bus services for a 12 month period, utilising Department for Transport grant funds.  The 406 will now benefit from 12 months financial support to enable it to continue operating and grow back patronage.  In that time we urge all residents, and in particular concessionary pass holders to return to using the service to help rebuild it as a sustainable bus route.

I hope that this provides the assurance that you are seeking about the continued operation of the 406 service.

 

Answer:

Date received: 29 September 2022
Signatories received: 71
Name of petioner: Mr D Leese


Petition response:

Awaiting response
Answer:

Date received: 13 October 2022
Signatories received: 613
Name of petitoner: Clare Gilg


Petition response:

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents and businesses regarding the closure of Shay Lane. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Cllr David Williams, Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport.

The road closure on Shay Lane is in place due to the partial collapse of a highway culvert.

The arch of the culvert has broken into segments and is not stable, as such the County Council on advice of our highway engineers have made the decision on safety grounds to close Shay Lane until further notice.

Our asset management team have added Shay Lane to the asset risk register which will prompt organisational discussions to consider its priority, potential engineering solutions, and financial streams.

We apologise for the inconvenience whilst the closure is in place and encourage road users to use the official signed diversion rather than other local routes which may be unsuitable for larger vehicles. The closure will be monitored daily, and the diversion route will be treated over the winter season.

Answer:

Date received: 13 October 2022
Signatories received: 706
Name of petitoner: Mrs L Devey


Petition response:

Dear Mrs Devey,

RECEIPT OF PETITION – Pavements in Yoxall

I refer to the petition, signed by local residents and businesses regarding the condition of the footways in Yoxall.  I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to Councillor Julia Jessel.

The footways mentioned in the petition are featured on our future structural works programme, as their condition is deemed beyond a preventative treatment, as they require reconstruction. The condition is being continually assessed on a priority basis against other proposed footway schemes across the County.

The carriageway scheme along the A515 corridor from Yoxall to Morrey was in 2012 and funding was received to go into the adjacent estate to begin resurfacing the footways.

The following year, footway works managed to be completed were:

  • Alwyn Road
  • Swarbourn Close
  • Lovell Road
  • Lightwood Road
  • Rookery Close

It was on completion of these schemes that they had planned to go and complete the final phase of the estate which includes all the roads that have been stated on the petition.

Unfortunately, in those intervening years, we were advised that they had not been able to get back into Yoxall, due to footway priorities being elsewhere in the County and more latterly no actual structural footway budget.

County Councillor Julia Jessel is currently in discussion with the Local Highways Team about her wish to advocate her funding in these areas. Although, this is still in discussion about the funding on these as it may be best to wait for structural funding to complete the long overdue works.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Rayson
Strategic Community Infrastructure Manager

Answer:

Date received: 18 November 2022
Signatories received: 1
Name of petitoner: Mr Lyons


Petition response:

Dear Mr Lyons,

Receipt of Petition – Make it mandatory for School Crossing Patrols to wear a Body Cam

I refer to the petition regarding the request for School Crossing Patrols to wear body cameras. I can advise you that receipt of the petition will be reported to the Cabinet Member for Highways & Transport, County Councillor David Williams.

Safety on our road network and the safety of our staff are both extremely important to the County Council.

The majority of Staffordshire’s parents/carers and drivers recognise the valuable service provided by our School Crossing Patrols and have due respect for our individual staff and for the legal powers they have to stop traffic.

All of our Patrols are trained to deal with instances where individuals do not drive with due care and attention or are personally abusive, and serious matters are reported to the Police.

The County Council will consider the wearing of body cameras by our School Crossing Patrols at specific locations and has been collaborating with a local school who wish to provide the necessary equipment. However, the legal and governance requirements regarding the use of surveillance equipment must be in place, to ensure personal images and data captured at the site is managed appropriately.

Yours sincerely,

Deborah Hunter
School Crossing Patrols Manager

Answer:

Date received: 1 December 2022
Signatories received: 5
Name of petitoner: Mr Steventon


Petition response:

Dear Mr Steventon,

Re: B4176

Thank you for your petition.

Staffordshire County Council takes road safety extremely seriously and as such we appreciate the time you have taken to contact the Council with your concerns.

Staffordshire County Council has a statutory responsibility to study road collisions in its area and act as appropriate to reduce their numbers.

The B4176 does not currently meet the criteria in terms of speed related collisions for the Council to consider further investigation at this time, but we will of course continue to monitor data for this location.

If a pattern of treatable collisions emerges then remedial measures, proportionate to the accident problem, will be proposed and prioritised against other locations across Staffordshire.

If vehicles are not adhering to the current speed limit then we would encourage you to report your concerns to the Police, who are the main enforcement agency for motoring offences and have the necessary powers to enforce speeding vehicles.

Details of how we use objective data to make informed decisions about road safety improvements, as well as information on how these are funded, are available on our website at the following address: https://www.staffordshire.gov.uk/Highways/roadsafety/Issues.aspx

I trust the above is of assistance.

There are no results that match your search criteria


Latest news
Staffordshire business start-up and survival rates increase as county council support programme grows

Staffordshire business start-up and survival rates increase as county council support programme grows

Description
The number of new businesses in Staffordshire starting up has increased to the level seen nationally and those businesses surviving their first three years has increased with the rate now higher than the national figure, recently released statistics show.
Date:
03 February 2023
Cannock family centre supports local families

Cannock family centre supports local families

Description
Families worried about the rising cost of living are being offered free supplies at their local community table.
Date:
01 February 2023
New heritage project to preserve and showcase county's past

New heritage project to preserve and showcase county's past

Description
The project will include a new £5.4m history centre in Eastgate Street in Stafford and an ambitious four year programme of activities that will engage new audiences whilst connecting visitors and residents with family and local history.
Date:
31 January 2023
School closures detailed on county council website

School closures detailed on county council website

Description
Parents can check if they local school is closed via Staffordshire County Council's dedicated website. As a series of National Education Union strikes begin on Wednesday, schools who have notified the county council that they are closed can be viewed at www.staffordshire.gov.uk/schoolclosure.
Date:
31 January 2023

Visit the Staffordshire Newsroom