Our use of cookies

We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of analytical cookies, click the 'Accept cookies' button. No, give me more information.
Accept cookies Reject analytical cookies Manage cookies


In 1974 a two-tier administrative structure of (Shire) Counties and Non-Metropolitan Districts was set up across the whole of England and Wales. Council functions were divided according to the level at which they could be practised most efficiently.

In consequence, counties took on functions including education, transport, strategic planning, consumer protection, refuse disposal, smallholdings, social services and libraries, whereas the Districts had responsibility for local planning, housing, building, environmental health, refuse collection and cemeteries.

In Staffordshire there is one county council and eight district councils. The areas the councils cover can be viewed in the Interactive Boundary Map.

There are no results that match your search criteria

Contacting the chat service.

Please wait...
Chat with us
digital assistant