Our use of cookies We use necessary cookies to make our site work. Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, website analytics and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work, please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of cookies, click the 'Accept' button.

The curriculum and what your child will be learning

Community Schools across Staffordshire follow the national curriculum. Other types of school like academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum, but they must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, Maths and Science. 

The National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools to ensure that children learn the same things in school.

It is organised into blocks of years called key stages:

Stage Age School Year
Early Years Foundation Stage  0-5 Reception class
Key Stage 1  5-7 Year 1 and  Year 2
Key Stage 2  7-11 Years 3, 45 and 6
Key Stage 3  11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4  14-16 Years 10 and 11

The National Curriculum covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject at each age.

Key stage content


The school must report your child’s progress to you. This can happen in different ways, e.g. an end-of-term report or meetings at the school.

There are no results that match your search criteria

Latest education news

Staffordshire schools to help with vaccinations for 12 to 15 year olds

Schools in Staffordshire will play an important part in rolling out Covid-19 vaccinations in the coming weeks.
14 September 2021

Think Before You Park When Doing the School Run

Parents and carers are being encouraged to think before they park now that pupils have returned to the classroom.
14 September 2021

Support plan for Staffordshire families

Families needing help will benefit from a county wide support network under new proposals.
07 September 2021

Funding Help to Support SEND Pupils in Mainstream Schools

Funding to create new school places and improve existing provision for children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities is being made available to Staffordshire schools.
07 September 2021

Visit the Staffordshire Newsroom

Contacting the chat service.

Please wait...
Chat with us
digital assistant
Enter your question below