Our use of cookies

We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of analytical cookies, click the 'Accept all cookies' button. No, give me more information.
Accept all cookies Reject analytical cookies Manage cookies

The role of the cabinet

The cabinet system makes the major decisions about council services and many others that you use on a day-to-day basis.

The cabinet normally meets monthly. Its role is to lead in the preparation of the council's policies and budget, to lead the community planning process and the attainment of best value.

The cabinet is made up of the leader and nine other councillors who are chosen by the county council from the majority party, currently Conservative. Each cabinet member has an individual area of responsibility also known as his or her portfolio.

Cabinet Structure 

Cabinet Members (9)

  • Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economy and Skills -  Philip White

  • Cabinet Member for Health and Care - Julia Jessel
  • Cabinet Member for Environment, Infrastructure and Climate Change - Simon Tagg

  • Cabinet Member for Commercial Matters - Mark Deaville

  • Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport - David Williams

  • Cabinet Member for Finance and Resources - Ian Parry

  • Cabinet Member for Communities and Culture - Victoria Wilson

  • Cabinet Member for Children and Young People - Mark Sutton

  • Cabinet Member for Education (and SEND) - Jonathan Price

Support Members with specific portfolios (2)

Cabinet meetings are also webcast. View cabinet webcasts.

There are no results that match your search criteria