Our use of cookies

We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of analytical cookies, click the 'Accept cookies' button. No, give me more information.
Accept cookies Reject analytical cookies Manage cookies
Visit the Staffordshire County Council newsroom homepage

King's New Year Honours for Staffordshire announced

Posted on Friday 29th December 2023

Ian Dudson

Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent residents have been recognised in His Majesty the King’s Honours List for New Year 2024.

Fifteen residents have been honoured with CBEs, MBEs and BEMs for their services to communities, public service and for their professional contribution.

Among those recognised in the New Year’s honours are Dr Chandra Mohan Kanneganti from Stoke-on-Trent, who is made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), for his services to General Practice and Kenneth Newton from Stafford who is made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for services to public service as Governing Governor, HMP Birmingham.

Alan White, Leader of Staffordshire County Council, said:

It’s wonderful to see so many Staffordshire residents recognised for their hard work and commitment to their communities in His Majesty the King’s Honours List.

They have again demonstrated that this county is a place where our residents can make a considerable contribution to the lives of others, whether this is through their own expertise or by volunteering to make a difference. We’d like to congratulate local government colleagues Dr Chandra Kanneganti, Roger Lees and Abi Brown for their honours.”

Mr Ian Dudson CBE, HM Lord-Lieutenant of Staffordshire, said:

Once again His Majesty’s Honours recognise those who contribute to our communities in a significant way, either through professional achievements, or voluntary work. The theme of these awards is ‘giving’ and we are delighted that local individuals are recognised for their fundraising and for selflessly giving their time and support to important causes.

I send my warmest congratulations to them and thank them, on His Majesty’s as well as my own behalf, for their outstanding contribution.”

The Honours recipients are:

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire CBE

Dr Chandra Mohan Kanneganti, Stoke-on-Trent, for services to General Practice

Officers of the Order of the British Empire OBE

Ms Catherine Jane Parry, Stoke-on-Trent, services to Political and Public Service

Mr Kenneth Paul Newton, Stafford, services to Public Service

Councillor Abigail Margaret Brown, Stoke-on-Trent, services to Local Government

Professor David Foskett, Burton-on-Trent, services to Hospitality Industry and Inclusivity

Members of the Order of the British Empire MBE

Mrs Jacqueline Mary Gange, Cannock, services to Community in Cannock

Mr Rowan Edwin Crozier, Lichfield, services to Manufacturing and Enterprise

Mrs Jill Alcock (Clewes), Staffordshire Moorlands, services to The Arts and Charity

Professor Miriam Bernard, Newcastle-under-Lyme, services to Ageing Research and to Older People

Dr Catherine Emma Baxter, services to Higher Education

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire BEM

Mr Martin Peter Wild, Barton under Needwood, services to Community in Tamworth

Mr Herbert Proctor, Stoke-on-Trent, services to Community in Audley

Mr Stephen Roger Lees JP, South Staffordshire, services to Community in Himley, Swindon and South Staffordshire

Mrs Elaine Hutchings, Lichfield, services to Community in Lichfield during Covid-19

Mr Peter Stewart Clemson, Burton-on-Trent, services to Performing Arts and the Community in Burton

Related Items

Sorry, there are no related items