Our use of cookies

We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of analytical cookies, click the 'Accept cookies' button. No, give me more information.
Accept cookies Reject analytical cookies Manage cookies
Error: Error locating content node for page 20607
Error: Error locating content node for page 20607

Staffordshire Place Guide - Burslem


All of the links in the table below enable you to view Collection catalogues in our online catalogue Gateway to the Past. Where there is no link this is either because we hold the collection but the catalogue is not yet online, or because the collection is held by another Archive Service, or is still in the hands of the organisation itself.


  • OS County Series 6 inches to 1 mile sheet: 12SW
  • OS National Grid 6 inches to 1 mile sheet: SJ84NE
  • OS National Grid reference: SJ867498

Church of England

Local Government 

  • Civil Parish: Burslem (to 1922); Milton (1894-1922); Norton in the Moors (1922-date); Stoke on Trent City (1922-date)
  • Hundred: Pirehill North
  • Poor Law Union: Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union (1836-1922); Stoke and Wolstanton Poor Law Union (major part) and Leek Poor Law Union (minor part) (1922-1930)
  • District Council (a): Part (increased in 1922 and 1965): Burslem Municipal Borough (1878-1910); Stoke on Trent City (1910-date)
  • District Council (b): Part (reduced in 1922 and 1965) : Wolstanton Rural District (1894-1904); Smallthorne Urban District (1904-1922); Leek Rural District (1922-1974); Staffordshire Moorlands District (1974-date)

Parliamentary Representation 

  • Parliamentary Constituency (to 1974) (a): Part (increased in 1948 and 1966) : Stoke on Trent (1832-1885); Hanley (1885-1918); Stoke on Trent, Hanley (1918-1948); Stoke on Trent Central (1948-1974)
  • Parliamentary Constituency (to 1974) (b): Part (reduced in 1948 and 1966): Northern Staffordshire (1832-1867); North Staffordshire (1867-1885); North Western Staffordshire (1885-1918); Leek (1918-1974)

Nonconformist Churches 

There are no results that match your search criteria