Staffordshire Police and Crime Panel

Police and Crime Panel logoIn November 2012 the people of Staffordshire elected their first Police and Crime Commissioner.

The Commissioner's role has been established under the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 to oversee the provision of effective and efficient policing services, including community safety and crime prevention.

As part of the measures in place to hold the Commissioner to account to the public the Act also introduced Police and Crime Panels - one for each Police Force area.

The Panel's Role

The specific role of the panel is 'to scrutinise the Police and Crime Commissioner, to promote openness in the transaction of police business and also to support the Police Crime Commissioner in the effective exercise of their functions'.

Included in the work of the Panel is:

  • scrutiny of decisions made by the Police and Crime Commissioner
  • scrutiny of the Commissioners Precept
  • contributing to the development of the Police and Crime Plan
  • reviewing proposed appointment to key posts including the Chief Constable and the Deputy Police and Crime Commissioner
  • scrutinising at a Public meeting, the Commissioners Annual Report
  • consider complaints against the Police and Crime Commissioner (NB. Not complaints against the Staffordshire Police Force)


The Staffordshire Police and Crime Panel is made up of one representative of each of the principal local authorities in the County, together with two independent members.  Their details are as follows:-

Staffordshire County Council             
Councillor David Williams (Chairman)

Stoke on Trent City Council               
Councillor Randolph Conteh

Cannock Chase District Council            
Councillor Carl Bennett

East Staffordshire Borough Council     
Councillor Deneice Florence-Jukes

Lichfield District Council                      
Councillor Doug Pullen

Newcastle Under Lyme Borough Council
Councillor Tony Kearon

Stafford Borough Council
Councillor Ann Edgeller

Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
Councillor Peter Jackson

South Staffordshire District Council
Councillor Brian Edwards

Tamworth Borough Council
Councillor Stephen Doyle

Co-Opted Members

Mr Paul Darby (Vice-Chairman)

Mr Keith Walker 

You can find out more about this committee on our Staffordshire Police and Crime Panel meetings page. 

There are no results that match your criteria.

Share this information
  • facebook17
  • twitter17
  • google17
  • intagram17
  • email17