Records Held By Staffordshire Record Office

For family history resources at Staffordshire Record Office please follow the link below

Family History Resources at Staffordshire Record Office

The range of archive collections held by Staffordshire Record Office is very wide and encompasses very many subject areas.

Plan of the estate of Samuel Vernon Esq in the Parish of Kings Bromley and County of Stafford

They include records of:

Local authorities including:

  • Staffordshire County Council, 1889 onwards, and its predecessor authorities, including the Court of Quarter Sessions, c.1590-1888
  • Staffordshire Poor Law Unions, 1834-1930
  • Stafford Borough Council and former urban and rural district councils in Staffordshire
  • Parish councils from 1894


  • Magistrates courts
  • Anglican parishes in the historic county of Staffordshire, including ecclesiastical records and records of parish administration
  • Nonconformist circuits and chapels
  • Major landed families in the county including those of the Dukes of Sutherland, Marquesses of Anglesey, Earls of Shrewsbury, Dartmouth, Lichfield and Bradford, Barons Bagot and Stafford, and many others
  • Businesses and professions including solicitors, estate agents, accountants, retail trades, building societies
  • Industry including coalmining, iron, engineering, textiles, footwear and brewing
  • Communications including railways, canals and roads
  • Primary and Secondary schools
  • Hospitals
  • Clubs and societies, including co-operative societies and political societies
  • Trade Unions

As well as

  • Electoral registers for most of the historic county. Those for the period 1832-1891 are available on microfiche only for preservation reasons.
  • Census returns for the whole of the historic county, on microfiche only.
  • Tithe and enclosure maps and awards and estate maps
  • Ordnance Survey maps, including the County and National Grid series

Online Catalogue

Our online catalogue Gateway to the Past is continually growing, as we catalogue all new accessions electronically and more of our older paper catalogues are converted to electronic format each year.


There are no results that match your criteria.

How do you rate your experience with this website today?

rate your experience with this website as good rate your experience with this website as average rate your experience with this website as poor
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Print friendly version of this page