Our use of cookies

We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of analytical cookies, click the 'Accept cookies' button. No, give me more information.
Accept cookies Reject analytical cookies Manage cookies

Staffordshire Place Guide - Tamworth


All of the links in the table below enable you to view Collection catalogues in our online catalogue Gateway to the Past. Where there is no link this is either because we hold the collection but the catalogue is not yet online, or because the collection is held by another Archive Service, or is still in the hands of the organisation itself.

OS County Series 6 inches to 1 mile sheets 59SE, 59SW
OS National Grid 6 inches to 1 mile sheet SK20SW
OS National Grid reference SK207041
Church of England   
Ancient Parish Tamworth, St Editha (see notes 1 and 2)
Ancient Chapelries Wigginton, St Leonard; Wilnecote, Holy Trinity
Modern Parishes Amington, St Editha; Fazeley, St Barnabas; Fazeley, St Paul; Glascote, St George; Hopwas, St Chad
Local Government   
Civil Parishes Tamworth (to date); Amington and Stoneydelph (Warwickshire) (1866-32); Amington (Warwickshire) (1932-1965); Bolehall and Glascote (Warwickshire) (1866-1932); Fazeley (1866-date); Glascote (Warwickshire) (1932-1965); Hopwas Hays (1866-1934); Syerscote (1866-1934); Thorpe Constantine (1934-date); Wigginton (1866-date); Wilnecote and Castle Liberty (Warwickshire) (1866-1965)
Hundred Townships of Tamworth, Syerscote : Offlow North (Staffordshire)
Townships of Fazeley, Wigginton and extra-parochial area of Hopwas Hays : Offlow South (Staffordshire)
Townships of Amington and Stoneydelph, Bolehall and Glascote, Wilnecote and Castle Liberty : Hemlingford (Warwickshire)
Poor Law Union Tamworth Poor Law Union (1836-1930)
District Council  (a) Township of Tamworth (Staffordshire) : Tamworth Borough (to 1835); Tamworth Municipal Borough (1835-1974) (including transferred parts of the Warwickshire townships, see note 1)
District Council (b) Townships of Fazeley, Syerscote, Wigginton (Staffordshire) : Tamworth Rural District (1894-1934); Lichfield Rural District (1934-1974)
District Council (c) Townships of Amington and Stoneydelph, Bolehall and Glascote, Wilnecote and Castle Liberty (Warwickshire) (or such parts of them as remained in Warwickshire at any given time, see note 1 below) : Tamworth Rural District (1894-1965)
Parliamentary Representation   
Parliamentary Constituency (to 1885) All townships : Tamworth (1832-1885)
Parliamentary Constituency (1885-1974) (a) Staffordshire townships : Lichfield (1885-1948); Lichfield and Tamworth (1948-1974)
Parliamentary Constituency (1885-1974) (b) Warwickshire townships (or such parts of them as remained in Warwickshire at 1945 or 1955.  See note 1 below) : Northern Warwickshire (1885-1918); Tamworth (1918-1945); Sutton Coldfield (1945-1955); Meriden (1955-1970)
Nonconformist Churches   
Congregational, Presbyterian and United Reformed Churches  Aldergate Congregational Church; Tamworth Church of Christ (Independent), later Congregational Church
Methodist Churches Amington Methodist Church; Fazeley United Methodist Church; Glascote Methodist Church; St. Andrew's Methodist Church; Tamworth Central Methodist Church; Victoria Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel; Wilnecote Methodist Church
Other organisations   
Businesses Businesses in Tamworth 
Charities  Charities in Tamworth
Societies and Clubs  Societies and clubs in Fazeley 
Building conservation photographs Building conservation photographs for Tamworth; Building conservation photographs for Fazeley; Building conservation photographs for Wigginton  Please see note 3 below.
Note 1 The ancient parish of Tamworth fell partly in Staffordshire and partly in Warwickshire.  Due to various transfers to Tamworth Municipal Borough between 1932 and 1965, by the latter date only very small portions of the three Warwickshire townships remained in Warwickshire
Note 2 The township of Hopwas Hays was within the parish of Tamworth for civil purposes, but was ecclesiastically extra-parochial until 1967. 
Note 3 This link provides a hitlist of photographs included within a larger collection covering the entire county.

There are no results that match your search criteria