Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, website analytics and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work, please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of cookies, click the 'Accept' button. No, give me more info



There are a range of routes into working within Adult Social Care, in addition to several qualifications that can support the development of staff.


Apprenticeships provide on the job training for an individual, with supplementary learning through an centre for education, such as a college.

More information on how to hire an Apprentice is available through the Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group and South Staffordshire College and Burton and South Derbyshire College



T Level

T Levels are technical based qualifications, developed in collaboration with employers and businesses, preparing students for their field of work,

T Levels constitute a two-year course, typically undertaken by 16–18-year-olds after finishing their GCSEs.

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education.

More information is available through the Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group.



Regulated Qualification Framework, otherwise known as RQFs, previously known as NVQs, are practical work based awards qualifications.

Care Certificate

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors.

It is made up of 15 minimum standards:

  • Understand your role
  • Your personal development
  • Duty of care
  • Equality and diversity
  • Work in a person centred way
  • Communication
  • Privacy and dignity
  • Fluids and nutrition
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability
  • Safeguarding adults
  • Safeguarding Children
  • Basic Life Support
  • Health and Safety
  • Handling information
  • Infection prevention and control

More information is available through the Skills for Care.

There are no results that match your search criteria