Our use of cookies We use necessary cookies to make our site work. Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, website analytics and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information on how these cookies work, please see our privacy policy.

To agree to our use of cookies, click the 'Accept' button. No, give me more info
Accept
 

28 September

365 Great Things About Staffordshire: Marmite! Conceived in 1902 and made in Staffordshire September-28-new

 

Today - 28 September - is Marmite Day!  Marmite is a dark, thick, tasty yeast extract spread. It’s made from concentrated yeast extract, which is a by-product from brewing beer.

Since its conception at the begining of 1900s, Marmite’s distinctive taste has caused a great divide in Britain. Whether you’re a lover or a hater – we hope you’ve at least tried it?

It was conceived in 1902, after it was discovered that brewer's yeast could be concentrated, bottled and eaten.  

Soon after, the Marmite Food Company was formed and opened a small factory in Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire - where it still resides today.

The by-product yeast needed for the paste was originally supplied by the local, and equally great, Staffordshire based Bass Brewery.

Extra strength Marmite XO was developed in 2010 and to celebrate the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee in June 2012, Marmite decided to pay a fitting tribute by launching another limited edition, aptly named ‘Ma’amite’.

In 2013, Marmite decided to bring a bit of sparkle to breakfast, launching Marmite Gold, which contained real flecks of Gold.

More recently two limited edition Summer jars were launched, which sought to spread 'peace and love'.

Marmite recipes

Apart from spreading it on your toast, there's a whole range of ways you can enjoy Marmite.  Here are links to a few recipes to tantalise your tastebuds.

Cheese and Marmite Muffin.  If you love a savoury muffin (and frankly, who doesn't?) try this Marmite-y twist

Cheesy Baked Eggs with Marmite.  We'll take baked eggs any day of the week.  but throw in some Marmite and chesse, and...oh my.

Marmite and Peanut Butter, Banana Smoothie.  You'll go nuts over this thick creamy glass of goodness.  

Here are some popular FAQs about Marmite

Is Marmite alcoholic?

No, not in any way. Any alcohol in the yeast evaporates off during the Marmite-making process. 

Can pregnant ladies eat Marmite?

Yes! In fact, Marmite is rich in folic acid – and the NHS recommends folic acid supplements during the first twelve weeks of pregnancy and whilst women are trying to conceive.

Is Marmite halal?

Yes. The entire Marmite range is halal – and certified by the Halal Food Authority. 

Is Marmite vegetarian or vegan?

The entire Marmite range is vegan, and certified by the European Vegetarian Union (EVU), except for the 70g jar. The 70g jar is currently only vegetarian – though Marmite are in the process of moving towards vegan approval from the EVU. 

Is Marmite kosher?

Only Marmite 70g is kosher: the rest of the range is not. 

Is Marmite gluten-free?

No, Marmite is not gluten-free.

Marmite’s major ingredient is an extract from brewer’s yeast arising from beer-making. Malted barley, wheat, and rye are typically used to make many beers and they contain gluten. Despite thorough washing, the collected yeast may still contain low levels of gluten which may carry through to the final product.  

 


 

Join in with 365 Great Things About Staffordshire

  • It could be a place, a person, a thing, a community project - anything!

  • Big or small – if you’ve got a thought about something that you feel makes Staffordshire Great, we’d love to hear about it and share it.

Follow along with 365 Great Things About Staffordshire

  • Share all of the ‘Great Things’ that we publish over the next year, and comment on them using the hashtag#Staffs365

There are no results that match your search criteria